Home

Programme of Events - 2010 updated 29Dec2010

At 2:00 pm on the second Wednesday of each month there will be a meeting, normally at the YMCA Hawker Centre (was the Hawker Sports and Social Club), Lower Ham Road, Kingston on Thames, unless indicated otherwise. There is a well stocked bar, and good inexpensive lunches and snacks are available. We hope members will avail themselves of these. There is plenty of free parking space.
Hawker Centre

2010 PROGRAMME
 Wed 13 January  Social gathering with annual quiz by Les Palmer
 Wed 10 February  Aviation Art - Colin Wilson
 Wed 10 March  Harrier Conversion Unit - AV-M Peter Dodworth
 Wed 14 April  Annual General Meeting and video
 Wed 12 May  The Pegasus engine - George Dow
 Wed 9 June  Summer Barbeque at the Hawker Centre
 Wed 14 July  Experiences with New Technologies - Mick Mansell
 Wed 11 August  Social and video
 Wed 8 September  Social and video
 Wed 6 October  Visit to de Havilland Museum. Map. Meet there at 13:50.
 Wed 13 October  The Royal Aero Club Trust - Dick Poole
 Wed 10 November  BAE Systems heritage plans - John Parker
 Fri 19 November
 P.1127 50th Anniversary Lunch at Brooklands Museum
Wed 8 December  Xmas Lunch (8th) at the Hawker Centre, Note date corrected from the 15th,
 it was also wrong in the Summer and Spring newsletters
    Colin Wilson was Production Director at Kingston and is a Member of the Guild of Aviation Artists.
    AV-M Peter Dodworth was one of the original HCU members.
    George Dow has written the definitive history of the Pegasus (see Book Reviews in NL.25).
    Mick Mansell will be remembered in Systems Engineering at Kingston but became Technology Director at Warton.
    The DH Museum is found off the M25 at junction 22, map. It is being specially opened for us and we will be guided. Please contact Barry Pegram (01306 631125) if you would like to come as he needs to know numbers. The entrance fee is £7. The tour starts at 14.00 so aim to get there by 13.50, please.
    Dick Poole was Chief Flight Test Engineer at Dunsfold and now works for the Royal Aero Club Trust.
    Project Manager John Parker now has responsibility for BAES heritage activities.

    Unless stated otherwise, meetings are at the Hawker Centre, Kingston - the old Sports & Social Club - and start at 2.00 pm. Lunch and drinks are available beforehand, tea afterwards, and there is a large, free car park.